NAWG elects officers, adopts 2021 policy priorities at annual conference

Last week, the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) concluded its annual conference, which entailed organizational action and adoption of 2021 policy priorities. Given the impacts of COVID-19 over the past year, the board re-elected the same slate of officers to continue in their roles for 2021. With that action, the board has re-elected Dave Milligan (Michigan) as president; Nicole Berg (Washington) as vice president; Brent Cheyne (Oregon) as treasurer; Keeff Felty (Oklahoma) as secretary; and Ben Scholz (Texas) as past president.

“It’s an honor to continue serving as NAWG’s president, especially as we’ve got a lot of important issues and opportunities for wheat farmers with the new Congress and new administration,” said NAWG president and Cass City, Mich., farmer Dave Milligan. “Following several important policy wins in 2020, we’ve now set our priorities for the upcoming year with a focus on defending critical farm support programs, maintaining and growing our markets, and engaging in climate and sustainability policy in a constructive manner to represent wheat growers’ interests, among other issues.”

NAWG’s efforts return now to engaging with members of Congress and the administration to outline the organization’s priorities. As part of this effort, NAWG will hold a virtual Hill week next week where its farmer members will meet with their congressional delegations and the House and Senate agriculture committees.