Washington grower is winner of yield contest 3rd year in a row

From the National Association of Wheat Growers

Brian Cochrane, from Kahlotus, Wash., is a 2018 national winner, finishing fourth in winter wheat dryland! He created this sign previously to show his support for the contest.

The National Wheat Foundation’s National Wheat Yield Contest offers growers the opportunity to compete with farmers from across the U.S. and improve their production practices through new and innovative techniques. Today, NWF is announcing the national winners for the 2018 National Wheat Yield Contest

“A special congratulations to Phillip Gross (of Adams County in Washington state) for being the high yield winner for the third year in a row,” stated Foundation Board President Wayne Hurst. “Phillip’s entry topped the 200 bu/ac level for the first time ever in the contest. It’s great to see growers who have entered and won in previous years continue to take part in the contest. We also welcomed several new applicants this year, many of whom won.”

The contest recognizes winners in two primary competition categories: winter wheat and spring wheat, and two subcategories: dryland and irrigated.

“NWF would like to thank each grower for enrolling in the NWYC, and thank our sponsors for helping to make the Contest available to wheat growers in the United States. We received a record-breaking 318 total entries this year and hope that this number will continue to grow,” continued Hurst.

Other Washington state winners were Keith Gross of Adams County who placed second in irrigated spring wheat; Jason Beechinor of Walla Walla County who placed fifth in dryland spring wheat; David Gross of Spokane County who placed fifth in irrigated winter wheat; and Brian Cochrane of Franklin County who placed fourth in dryland winter wheat.

Visit the National Wheat Foundation website to see the other winners.