FSA Encourages Votes in Asotin, Garfield County Committee Elections

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) encourages all farmers, ranchers, and FSA program participants to take part in the Garfield and Asotin County Committee election nomination process.

FSA’s county committees are a critical component of the day-to-day operations of FSA and allow grassroots input and local administration of federal farm programs.

Committees are comprised of locally elected agricultural producers responsible for the fair and equitable administration of FSA farm programs in their counties. Committee members are accountable to the Secretary of Agriculture. If elected, members become part of a local decision making and farm program delivery process.

A county committee is composed of three to 11 elected members from local administrative areas (LAA). Each member serves a three-year term. This year, Garfield County is accepting nominations for LAA 1, which covers the northwest portion of the county. Currently Nick Koller represents this LAA and is eligible for reelection. Asotin County is accepting nominations for LAA 3, which covers the north end of the county. Mike Becker is currently representing this LAA, but is not eligible for reelection due to term limits.

County committees may have an appointed advisor to further represent the local interests of underserved farmers and ranchers. Underserved producers are beginning, women and other minority farmers and ranchers and landowners and/or operators who have limited resources.

All nomination forms for the 2023 election will be available June 15, 2023 and must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by Aug. 1, 2023.