NAWG launches climate, sustainability committee on Earth Day

Marci Green, past president of the Washington Association of Wheat Growers, will serve on the National Association of Wheat Growers Special Climate and Sustainability Committee.

From the National Association of Wheat Growers

Today, the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) launched their new Special Climate and Sustainability Committee. The committee will work together to review wheat sustainability issues and guide the development of NAWG policy priorities on climate  policy.

“Wheat growers are having a positive impact on the environment and have increased resource-efficient practices in land, water, and energy use,” stated NAWG President and Cass City, Mich., wheat farmer, Dave Milligan. “Launching the Special Climate and Sustainability Committee will enhance NAWG’s ability to have an effective seat at the table as Congress and the U.S. Department of Agriculture consider options for farmers playing a role addressing climate change. This farmer-led venue will prioritize having discussions on what climate-related policies and principles NAWG should advocate.”

The committee will report to the NAWG board and will provide recommendations on policy options and NAWG’s engagement in climate discussions. The committee is made up of current and past NAWG board members, representing a broad variety of production areas:

Chairs: Justin Knopf (KS) and Derek Jackson (WY)

Members: Marci Green (WA), Ty Iverson (ID), Brian Books (CO), Clay Pope (OK), Eric Spates (MD), Aaron Heilers (OH), Vince Mattson (MT) and Tate Perry (MN)

“As we celebrate Earth Day, NAWG is excited to take initiative by engaging in climate policy discussions and focusing on practices that benefit the environment, wheat producers and the general public.” Milligan said.