NWF Announces National Winners for the 2020 National Wheat Yield Contest

The National Wheat Foundation’s (NWF) National Wheat Yield Contest offers growers the opportunity to compete with farmers from across the U.S. and improve their production practices through new and innovative techniques. Today, NWF is announcing the national winners for the 2020 National Wheat Yield Contest.

“This year the Foundation is awarding four Bin Buster winners, one from each of the four categories: Winter Wheat Dryland and Irrigated and Spring Wheat Dryland and Irrigated,” stated Foundation Board President David Cleavinger. “COVID-19 created many setbacks for growers across the country. It is exciting to see that it did not prevent wheat farmers from participating in this year’s contest.”

The contest recognizes winners in two primary competition categories: winter wheat and spring wheat, and two subcategories: dryland and irrigated. Derek Friehe, from Moses Lake, Wash., was the bin buster winner for irrigated winter wheat, while James Getzinger from Grant, Wash., was the second place high yield winner in the spring wheat irrigated category. Randy Duncan of Benewah, Wash., was the first place high yield winner in spring wheat dryland. Joel Zwainz, from Lincoln, Wash., was the first place high yield winner in winter wheat irrigated, and John Dixon of Garfield, Wash., was the first place high yield winner in winter wheat dryland.

“NWF would like to thank each grower for enrolling in the National Wheat Yield Contest and thank our sponsors for helping to make the contest available to wheat growers in the U.S. Entries for the contest continue to be on an uphill trend, and this year we received a record-breaking 418 total entries, up from 397 last year,” continued Cleavinger.

Click here for the full results.