NWF announces state winners for 2020 National Wheat Yield Contest

Last week, the National Wheat Foundation (NWF) announced the national winners for the 2020 National Wheat Yield Contest. Today, NWF is announcing the state winners for the 2020 contest which includes 77 growers from 25 states. The Foundation’s National Wheat Yield Contest offers growers the opportunity to compete with farmers from across the United States and improve their production practices through new and innovative techniques.

“If you asked the general public where they think wheat is grown, they would say states like Kansas or Nebraska,” stated Foundation Board Chairman David Cleavinger. “The National Wheat Yield Contest proves differently and shows the diversity of the wheat crop and that it can be grown from the East to the West Coast and in between.”

The contest recognizes winners in two primary competition categories: winter wheat and spring wheat, and two subcategories: dryland and irrigated.

“NWF would like to thank our sponsors for helping to make the contest available to wheat growers in the U.S. and, again, recognize DTN/The Progressive Farmer as the official publication of the Contest,” continued Cleavinger. “As the contest continues to grow, we hope to see growers from new states enter the contest and include wheat farmers from states not recognized in this year’s batch of winners.”

Congratulations to the Washington state winners: John Dixon, Garfield; Jason Beechinor, Walla Walla; and Kyle Duncan, Spokane, in the dryland winter wheat category. Derek Friehe, Grant; Joel Zwainz, Lincoln; and Travis Schuh, Franklin, in the winter wheat irrigated category. James Getzinger, Grant; Zeke Ochoa, Adams; and Travis Schuh, Franklin, in the spring wheat irrigated category.

Click here for a full list of the winners.